The Heritage Houses of San Fernando, Pampanga
In light of the declaration of Vigan, the Heritage City, as one of New Seven Wonder Cities (N7WC) of the world, we will be exploring other heritage sites in the country. One of these sites is San Fernando, Pampanga that boasts of its Heritage District. At the district is a line of heritage houses that prove just how architecturally rich Pampanga is.
1) Hizon-Singian House
Built in 1870, the house was owned by Don Anacleto Hizon and Doña Victoria Singian de Miranda y de Ocampo. Don Anacleto was San Fernando’s gobernadorcillo from 1877 to 1879 and 1886 to 1887. It was inherited by Victoria Hizon y Singian and then by Gerry Catalino Rodriguez Y Hizon. The latter was the ex-president of PASUDECO (Pampanga Sugar Development Company).
In 1986, Hizon-Singian House was occupied by Spanish General Antonio Ruiz Serralde. From 1943 to 1944, it was used as a barracks and hospital by the Japanese Imperial Army. And finally, before 1945 ended, the house served as the headquarters of the 6th American Army.
2) Henson-Hizon House
Although built by Saturnino Henson y David and Maria Lacson, Henson-Hizon House is now owned by Pablo Panlilio y Dayrit and Dolores Arguelles. Before that though, the house was inherited by Juana Henson y Lacson, the eldest daughter of Saturnino and Maria. Juana was married to Florentino Hizon. Henson-Hizon House was inherited by Vicente Hizon y Dizon, Juana and Florentino’s son, before it was sold to the Panlilios.
Beside the house is a monument of Nicolasa Dayrit-Panlilio. She helped in treating the wounded Filipino soldiers throughout the Filipino-American War.
3) Lazatin House
Built in 1925 during the American colonial period, Lazatin House was owned by Serafin Lazatin y Ocampo and Encarnacion Singian y Torres. Serafin was the ex-president of SFELAPCO (San Fernando Electric Light & Power Company).
During World War II, the house was appropriated as an official residence of the Japanese Imperial Armey’s 14th Army Commander.
4) Dayrit-Cuyugan House
The house was built in 1920 by Joaquin Dayrit y Singian and Maria Paz Cuyugan y de Leon. It was later inherited by Luz Dayrit y Cuyugan, the eldest daughter of Joaquin and Maria.
5) Consunji House
Consunji House was the official residence of Don Antonio Consunji y Espina. During the Philippine Revolution, Don Antonio was San Fernando’s presidente municipal from 1989 to 1899.
Don Antonio was removed from his post by the Spanish authorities when Dr. Jose Rizal visited San Fernando. He graced Rizal’s visit.
6) Tabacalera House
Don Ramon Lopez originally owned Tabacalera House; the house was actually built for him. Tabacalera, a cigar manufacturer, had their offices at the first floor of the house (hence its name). Simeon Ocampo had purchased the house before the Japanese authorities sequestered it to serve as the headquarters of some kempeitai (Japanese policemen). Japanese police stayed there from 1943 to 1944.
Marco Lazatin currently owns Tabacalera House.
7) Hizon-Ocampo House
Hizon-Ocampo House was the first residence of Don Anacleto and Doña Victoria. It was later given to Leoncia Hizon, their daughter, as an inheritance. Leoncia was married to Basilio Ocampo, who is also a gobernadorcillo.
8) Santos-Hizon House
Santos-Hizon House is a Victorian-style house. It was built by Teodoro Santos and Africa Ventura. Maria Salome Hizon bought the house from the couple.
During the Philippine Revolution, Maria Salome was a Red Cross volunteer. Ramon Hizon, Maria Salome’s brother acquired the house. Ramon gave the house to Augusto, his son, as an inheritance.
Other houses in the District include Singian House, Ocampo House, Santos-Cuyugan House, Cuyugan-Baron House, Dayrit-Galang House, Santos-Miranda House, Bamba House, Sengson House and Aquino House. The District also houses the Pampanga Hotel and Archdiocesan Chancery.
Image credit: Indung Kapampangan | Wikipedia